Creme Fraise Gluten Free Corn Muffins

Here I go again with one of my lazy recipes. I had regular flour, but I keep it in my commercial kitchen and I didn’t want to go there first thing in the morning with my pj’s still on, so I made them GF since I keep all that stuff at home. I also had some creme fraise so I decided to use it to make these babies, but if you don’t have any at home feel free to substitute with greek yogurt or sour cream, something thick 😉

GF creme fraise corn muffins

I prefer my popover tin cause I like my corn muffins nice and tall!

I used my favorite GF mix, here is what goes into my mix:

2 cups super fine brown rice flour, 2/3 cup potato starch, 1/3 cup tapioca flour and 1 teaspoon xantham gum to help it stay together. Mix it all good and keep it in an air tight container.

Here is what you’ll need to make these muffins (yields about 9 regular muffins, i got 6 popover ones):

1 cup GF flour mix

2/3 cup yellow cornmeal

2 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 large eggs

1/2  cup creme fraise

1/2 cup whole milk

1/4 cup softened butter

GF creme fraise corn miffins

Heat oven to 400 F

Cream sugar and butter in a bowl until nice and fluffy. Stir in the eggs and mix until combined and then add the cream fraise, incorporate, and lastly add all the dry ingredients, mixing well until thoroughly combined. I also added a touch of freshly ground black pepper.

Pour even amounts of batter into prepared pan and bake for 18-24 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Serve warm.

GF creme fraise corn muffins

I drizzle mine as you can see with honey! Delicious flowery lavender honey from the french Provence! To die for!

I devoured it with a nice hot cup of tea.

GF creme fraise corn muffins lavender honey drizzle

Enjoy,

Leave a Reply

