Licorice Tea

Simple and comforting post for today, even though we are well into spring today it feels like fall… dark, drizzly, humid… Not fun basically since today is my first day off in a looooong time. Bummer!

Two weeks ago we went to Queens to spend the day and I finally got to go to one of my favorite places: A Korean market. I was soooo excited, like my mother used to say: “happier than a kid with new shoes”. I couldn’t get enough, my eyes didn’t know where to look, there were new, unknown and exciting things everywhere!!!

So this is one of the many things I bought: Licorice!!! I love it! Always had.

Licorice root

I always had it in the shape of a stick. We used to chew it and suck all the juice out of it. We even played a trick on the nuns in school, we used to sharpen it like it was a pencil and that way we got away with having it in the middle of our class!!! Pretty neat right?

licorice root

Licorice has been used in food and as medicine for thousands of years. Also known as “sweet root,” licorice root contains a compound that is about 50 times sweeter than sugar. Licorice root has been used in both Eastern and Western medicine to treat a variety of illnesses, ranging from the common cold to liver disease. It acts as a demulcent, a soothing, coating agent, and as an expectorant. It is still used today for several conditions, although not all its uses are supported by scientific evidence.

Licorice Tea

First I rinsed the pieces of root under cold running water and then I boiled them for about 20 minutes. The results: sweet, deep licorice flavor, and since right now I have a bad cold, it was just perfection.

If you ever run into licorice tea or licorice root (even better) give it a try. You’ll love it!

licorice tea

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

